Skip to main content

Certified Nutritional Genomics Specialist (CNGS) Certification

There are three eligibility requirements to earn the CNGS: Education, Examination, and Experience.

1. Education
Degree Requirement: The candidate must hold one of the following:
Masters of Science degree in the field of nutrition or dietetics from a United States regionally accredited college or university, or it's foreign equivalent; or
Doctoral degree in the field of nutrition, dietetics, related health science or medicine, from a United States regionally accredited college or university, or its foreign equivalent; or
Bachelor's degree in the field of nutrition or dietetics with a current RD/RDN license

Training Requirement: All candidates must have completed all five modules of the American Nutrition Association (ANA) Nutritional Genomics Training Program. Please do not apply to sit for the exam until you have completed the training program.

2. Examination
The candidate must achieve a passing score of 75% or higher on the Certification Examination for Nutritional Genomics Specialists. The exam is offered online once the training is completed.

The Certification Examination for Nutritional Genomics Specialists is designed to test the knowledge and skills acquired by those who have successfully completed the educational requirements outlined above. The examination contains 60 multiple-choice, single answer questions. Candidates have 90 minutes to complete the exam. No exceptions. It is a closed-book exam, no study materials may be used.

The CNGS Certification Fee is $250

3. Experience
Certified Nutrition Specialist (CNS) credential or Registered Dietitian Nutritionist (RDN) credential or licensed/certified as nutritionist/dietitian (LDN, CDN); or

License as a healthcare practitioner in the U.S. with nutrition in legal scope of practice, including MD/DO, DC, ND, NP, PA, RN, PharmD, Doctor of Nursing or foreign equivalent.

Each CNGS must recertify their credential every five years. This includes obtaining 30 Continuing Education (CE) credits and documenting them in the CNGS Recertification Application. Applications should then be submitted via the recertification portal for review. There is a $125 recertification fee every five years.

The mandatory recertification process provides the opportunity to demonstrate the retention, reinforcement, and expansion of knowledge and skills pertaining to new advances over the full spectrum of nutritional genomics science and nutrition care.